top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris

The Party


Back at it again, and a good bit of writing done today, even though I got busy making juice from redcurrants in the process. Yesterday I spent the day formatting and reading, forgoing any writing.

Today I began working on a scene with the party, even though the four of them have yet to meet in the novel. I wanted to see how they interact with each other. It seems they don't care for one another and at one point the swan maiden Analie referred to something happening in the city of Dal. Now I have to figure out what that is. I dreamed up a new character last night, a figure who has shown up in other stories, but in other forms, but he will be introduced tomorrow.

I realized all of a sudden, or when Rasval brought it up, that The Party is all non-human and this gives me a great opportunity for them to look at the world they are placed in. To reiterate who they are: Rasval - a highlander, a race of tall people, Analie - a swan maiden, a shapeshifter, Aegir- a ragman, a fae-like creature, tall and covered in red fur, with pointy ears, Joar Ander- a heí, a race of olive-skinned people, with pointy ears and almond eyes.

Tomorrow I will work more on this scene and throw a wrench in The Party's plans to get to Mem, and maybe work on the chapter where they meet.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page