top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris

Hitting Targets


After a few day's lull, I hit my target once again, which was 3500 words. It felt bittersweet since I am still like 4000 words behind if I want to hit 100k this month, but NaNoWriMo says that if I keep it up I'll hit that goal by August 9th, which is nice of them. I'm not even sure if 100k is the target at this time.

I got deep into the chapter called These Chains. The interesting part is that this chapter did not exist until yesterday morning. I have a collection of chapter names that I can pick from when I need them or find something fitting, but this one evolved through yesterday and today. The first part takes place in the chambers of parliament and gives a bit of an insight into the workings of Allard. More was revealed of the personality of Drosboe Fall and his marsk and drots Rein and Porse. I find that the political intrigue in the kingdom is coming along and I finally have a plan for that plot. This is also the first time someone mentions the Dark Days, a time of political strife within the kingdom. It wasn't something I had thought of, but Drosboe mentioned it in a speech and I ran with it. It made me think of the song Now the Dark Days are Over by Ray Cooper of Ousterband fame and decided to contact him and ask if I could use his lyrics as an intro in this book. He said yes!

The second half of the chapter follows the Wanderer as they infiltrate a village, for what purpose. Only the end of the chapter will tell. I wasn't going to have The Wanderer as a character, just an evil phantom, but found that some more intrigue was needed. It will also give some deeper insight into The Death Dealers and the sickness plaguing the coastal regions.

Tomorrow this chapter gets put to rest and the start of a new one.


Music for this session: Tales of Love War and Death by Hanging by Ray Cooper

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page