top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris

A Year in Publishing: Chapter Two Fatal Faries



Even though 2020 by all accounts has been a miserable year for us all, I managed to find some success as a writer. This year saw me become a published writer for the very first time and I figured I would try to detail the stories that were accepted and where they came from. I'll also try to do this in order. The titles are usually taken from songs or other texts, for they have inspired me and I will add this as well.

So without further ado...


Fatal Faeries (Nocturnal Publishing) Five drabbles accepted.


After having three drabbles accepted at the beginning of the year a new world opened up to me. Suddenly I was invited to several author groups and through them came in contact with publishers and writers. Among them Nocturnal Publishing. They put out a call for submissions for an anthology called Fatal Faeries and I jumped at the opportunity. Fairies is part of the very fabric of Northern Europe and I dug out my old Brian Froud books for inspiration. I first kicked out three stories in quick succession, all of them drabbles, and they were accepted. The idea behind them was the evil of faeries, a prospect I was familiar with because of Tery Pratchett's Folklore of the Discworld, which details the evil of the fae. Later I sent in two more and hit the limit of five accepted stories. Most of them deal with loss, either of a life that might have been lived, family, or a sense of belonging.

My only concern is that they in the end became similar and maybe I should have stopped at three, but in the end I was happy with the end product of the five.


When You Come Home Again (Standing Stones) - Title inspired by The Quensberry Rules song

Will-O-Ways (Will O' The Wisp)- Title inspired by the Dublin Fair song

Now and Ever After (Changelings) - Title from Dublin Fair's song

May Eve (Walpurgis Night)

By the Light of the Moon (Bäckahästen) - Title from a song by the Merrymakers


Fatal Faeries is available on Amazon.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page