top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris

A Year in Publishing: Chapter One Forgotten Ones


Even though 2020 by all accounts has been a miserable year for us all, I managed to find some success as a writer. This year saw me become a published writer for the very first time and I figured I would try to detail the stories that were accepted and where they came from. I'll also try to do this in order. The titles are usually taken from songs or other texts, for they have inspired me and I will add this as well.

So without further ado...


Chapter One: Forgotten Ones - Drabbles of Myth and Legend (Eerie River Publishing out of Canada). Three drabbles accepted.

In many ways, this was what set it all off. I had submitted stories before this and one would become accepted later, but this collection of drabbles (one hundred word stories) gave me the courage to write and submit more.

I saw the call for stories of legends and lore in a Facebook group and figured I'd give it a try, never having written a drabble before. On January 1st, 2020, oh how little we knew then, my family and I went to an exhibit about the arctic. There they had a room about legends from various indigenous people and I became inspired to write something from Inuit lore. I found one and wrote a little story about someone searching and finally finding the god Anguta, all while the world is dying. I was super thrilled when it was accepted into the collection that I tried my hand at two more, one from Balinese mythology tied into Face of Fear, discussed in a later post, and Mayan legend. Both were accepted. With that begins the journey as a published author.


Drabbles:

You Sleep, I Cry (Balinese mythology) Title taken from the song by the artist Sovory

The Ice Was So Thin Under the Snow (Inuit Legend) Title taken from a line out of the song Winter by Nieves

Blue Bandana (Mayan mythology) Title from the song by McDermott's 2 Hours


Forgotten Ones is available now from all book outlets online.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page